RxP Designation Committee: 2012 Annual Report

The Designation Committee for Postdoctoral Education and Training Programs in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority (RxP Designation Committee) was approved by the APA Council of Representatives in 2009. The purpose of this committee is to provide public recognition of postdoctoral psychopharmacology education and training programs that meet certain minimum standards and published criteria. Governance oversight of the RxP Designation Committee is jointly provided by BEA and CAPP. This report provides information on some of the committee’s major activities for 2012.

During 2012, the committee held its annual face to face meeting on Sept. 21-22, 2012. At that meeting, the committee reviewed the Interim Report of the programs that have been designated. This includes the interdisciplinary Master of Arts in Psychopharmacology at Southwestern Institute for the Advancement of Psychotherapy/New Mexico State University; the MS Program in Clinical Psychopharmacology at Fairleigh Dickinson University; and the MS Program in Clinical Psychopharmacology at Alliant International University’s California School of Professional Psychology.

In addition, Dr. Joseph Comaty was elected to serve as chair of the committee, effective at the close of the September meeting. Dr. Kevin McGuinness was elected vice-chair.

As mandated by the charge to the committee, a report on the structure, function and designation decisions made by the committee was delivered to the membership of the American Psychological Association by the chair in a session at the annual convention in 2012.

Changes to the RxP Designation Committee’s Policies & Procedures Manual were approved by the APA Board of Directors in August.

The Committee provided a report to BEA and CAPP on an issue of concern. That is, in order to insure that psychologists in training for prescriptive authority are being provided with the most current clinical and scientific information, the APA training curriculum needs to be updated by a process that will keep pace with this ever changing field. Related to this, the Committee discussed developing advisory or technical assistance documents about critical curricula for programs seeking designation as well as those already designated.

RxP Designation Committee Members

Marlin C. Hoover, PhD, MS, ABPP-CL (Chair); Joseph E. Comaty, PhD, MP; Robert McGrath, PhD; Kevin M. McGuinness, PhD, MS, JD, MP, ABPP-CH; Linda O. Summers, PhD, MSN ; Alice M. Young, PhD (vice-chair).

Staff Liaisons

Education: Catherine Grus, PhD, and Jan-Sheri Morris.
Practice: Dan Abrahamson, PhD; Deborah Baker, JD; and Tammy Barnes.