Excellence in Librarianship Award

The American Psychological Association’s Excellence in Librarianship Award was created to recognize an outstanding contribution to psychology and behavioral sciences librarianship. The award includes a $2,500 check and an inscribed plaque.

Deadline: April 20, 2015

Sponsor: APA

The award will be presented at the Educational & Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) Research Forum at the June 2015 American Library Association Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

This award is open to both librarians and allied professionals who have demonstrated significant achievement in librarianship in psychology or the behavioral sciences. Examples of achievement may include instruction, project development, publications, research or service. APA employees are not eligible.

Individuals may nominate themselves or others. Nominations will be accepted from library users, students, faculty, library colleagues or others with knowledge of the nominee’s achievement.

How to Apply

Please submit the following electronically by April 20, 2015:

  • Nomination statement (describe the contribution and its significance within and outside of the institution).

  • A current curriculum vitae.

  • Optional supporting documentation may be included with nomination (digital copies or URLs leading to online documentation).

  • Letters of support (no more than three; at least one letter from a direct beneficiary of the services provided by the nominee is strongly encouraged).

  • Contact information for the nominee.

Submissions can be made by email to APA Excellence in Librarianship Award.

Applications will be kept in the award pool for three years. Applications may be updated each year, as long as they are received by the award deadline.

Past Recipients

Frederick Andrew Lerner, DLS


Stuart Moss, MLS


Alice Brand Bartlett, MLS, PhD


David Baker, PhD


Brian Quinn, MS


Marietta Plank, MALS


Anne Wade, MLIS


Mark Stover, PhD